The Favourite

Today Dec 12
  • Today Dec 12
  • Thu Dec 13
  • Fri Dec 14
  • Sat Dec 15
  • Sun Dec 16
  • Mon Dec 17
  • Tue Dec 18
  • Wed Dec 19
  • Thu Dec 20
  • Fri Dec 21
  • Sat Dec 22
  • Sun Dec 23

Director: Yorgos Lanthimos Run Time: 119 min. Format: Digital Rating: R

Starring: Emma Stone, Joe Alwyn, Nicholas Hoult, Olivia Colman, Rachel Weisz

Early 18th century. England is at war with the French. Nevertheless, duck racing and pineapple eating are thriving. A frail Queen Anne (Olivia Colman) occupies the throne and her close friend Lady Sarah (Rachel Weisz) governs the country in her stead while tending to Anne’s ill health and mercurial temper. When a new servant Abigail (Emma Stone) arrives, her charm endears her to Sarah. Sarah takes Abigail under her wing and Abigail sees a chance at a return to her aristocratic roots. As the politics of war become quite time consuming for Sarah, Abigail steps into the breach to fill in as the Queen’s companion. Their burgeoning friendship gives her a chance to fulfill her ambitions and she will not let woman, man, politics or rabbit stand in her way.

Trailer